‘The Sea Glass Sisters’ by Lisa Wingate (Carolina Heirlooms #1)

A prelude to the Carolina Heirlooms series, this is contemporary women’s fiction set on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Now seriously, go look it up, because how is it even possible that people live on this thin string of islands that circles the mainland far out to sea? It’s a popular tourist destination because of the subtropical climate and endless beachfront, but it also is hammered by hurricanes and was once nicknamed the “Graveyard of the Atlantic” because of the number of shipwrecks that have occurred there. What a unique location for the setting of these novels! This novella was a great ‘amuse-bouche’ for the collection, which I will surely carry on with because I am hooked!

Elizabeth Gallagher is devastated when she believes she may have made a tragic error at work as a 911 operator where she lives in Michigan. In addition to that there are worries and conflicts at home, and she feels she is falling apart at the seams. A trip to Hatteras Island on the Outer Banks is unexpected and turns out quite differently than she had imagined!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s