Tag Archives: Carolina Heirlooms Series

‘Carolina Heirlooms Collection’ by Lisa Wingate

Lisa Wingate was a new author discovery for me last year. I posted already on the very first novella in this Carolina Heirlooms Series, as well as another stand-alone novel called Before We Were Yours.

Wingate’s books, (and she has many besides this series), are easy-to-read contemporary women’s fiction with a historical fiction element. I like the pacing and the characters in her books, even though the endings are usually predictable and the novels a bit forgettable. She obviously does her research well and comes up with some interesting storylines, settings, and historical truth. This series takes place mostly in the Blue Ridge Mountains and the Outer Banks, a thin circle of islands and sand dunes extending in an arc out from the US east coast. Before this series I never knew the Outer Banks existed. I also learned about the Lost Colony of Roanoke and the Federal Writer’s Project.

The Carolina Heirlooms Collection is comprised of 3 novels with 3 novellas as prequel and interspersed between the main books. I read them in order, but I don’t think that was entirely necessary. There are characters that keep reappearing but there is not really an important chronology. Here is the list:

#.5  The Sea Glass Sisters
#1.0  The Prayer Box
# 1.5  The Tidewater Sisters
#2.0  The Story Keeper
#2.5  The Sandcastle Sister
#3.0  The Sea Keeper’s Daughters

‘The Sea Glass Sisters’ by Lisa Wingate (Carolina Heirlooms #1)

A prelude to the Carolina Heirlooms series, this is contemporary women’s fiction set on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Now seriously, go look it up, because how is it even possible that people live on this thin string of islands that circles the mainland far out to sea? It’s a popular tourist destination because of the subtropical climate and endless beachfront, but it also is hammered by hurricanes and was once nicknamed the “Graveyard of the Atlantic” because of the number of shipwrecks that have occurred there. What a unique location for the setting of these novels! This novella was a great ‘amuse-bouche’ for the collection, which I will surely carry on with because I am hooked!

Elizabeth Gallagher is devastated when she believes she may have made a tragic error at work as a 911 operator where she lives in Michigan. In addition to that there are worries and conflicts at home, and she feels she is falling apart at the seams. A trip to Hatteras Island on the Outer Banks is unexpected and turns out quite differently than she had imagined!